The Peer Mentor Program, sponsored by the Department of Athletics and founded in 1996, is a mentoring program offered to first-year student-athletes at Lafayette College.

The purpose of the program is to guide and assist first-year student athletes in adjusting to the rigors of college life while participating in intercollegiate athletics.

Peer Mentors are upper-class student athletes who have undergone an interview and selection process. These student leaders attend extensive training in working with their peers and are closely monitored and supervised by the Coordinator for Student Athlete Support Services.

Peer Mentor Mission Statement

As Leaders of the Lafayette Student Athlete Community, we the Peer Mentors strive to utilize our shared knowledge and experiences in facilitating a successful transition of first year student athletes into a Division I collegiate environment.

We build Mentor/Mentee relationships to help establish academic, athletic, and personal goals to ensure overall achievement.

As Peer Mentors we emphasize being dependable, trustworthy, encouraging, helpful and understanding.

We pride ourselves in being a positive link among Students, the Athletic Department and the Lafayette Community.


  1. Deal with all aspects of a student’s transition to college in order to increase academic success
  2. Are a positive role model
  3. Provide Academic Enhancement Workshops for first year athletes
  4. Provide weekly contact between assigned students and mentors
  5. Provide weekly reports to ATTIC and coaches
  6. Advise students of the resources available at Lafayette

PEER MENTORS 2016-2017

Name Sport
Mara Blanchard WTR
Maddie Bowles WLA
Andrew Chuma MFB
Matthew Cortese MLA
Aliza Furneaux WFH
Andrew Gonzalez MSO
Trevor Houck MBA
Matt Mrazek MFB
Jenna Orlando WSB
Dante Piccolo MSO
Anna Ptasinski WBB
Charlotte Rath WLA
Luke Robinson MBA
David Sadvary MCC
Jennifer Salvatore WCC
Brad Seeber MSO
Miranda Skurla WSB
Eric Stafford MBB
Alex Stanford WSO
Kathrine Stevens WVB
Tim Vangelas MFB
Matthew Weintraub MCC
Maddy Wensel WSB
Casey White WFH